Listen to your body- Week 9, Day 7

This concept has proven to be a difficult one for me to grasp in the past. It’s easy to confuse the mind with the body when you don’t work at differentiating the two. Mind says one thing and the body says another (same goes for matters of the heart). It’s also easy for the mind to impose itself on the body.

“My body deserves this piece of chocolate cake.”

“I can get away with eating a handful (or 2 or 10) of Doritos.”

Do any of these sound familiar?  They were familiar to me also a couple of months ago, and sometimes my mind still tries to talk me into things I shouldn’t do. But today I had the opposite problem with my mind speaking for my body…

As you dear readers know, I am quite heavily into motivation. I post pictures of it, I talk about it nonstop, I vow nearly every post to that I will never give up. Well, I have many new phrases stuck in my head from listening to this amazing motivational speaker that I found online, and one  goes ” You have to want to succeed more than you want to sleep”.

Here is where my story comes into play. This morning I rose early with plans of going to a garage sale, picking up breakfast for my family and then hitting the gym. Sometime between the garage sale and the grocery store, I had an allergic reaction to something. I do not know what. I was covered on my legs and arms with red itchy spots. I was so incredibly uncomfortable that I took a healthy dose of Benadryl.  And just like that my plans to go to the gym became severely compromised. I could barely keep my eyes open. But the words

” you have to want to succeed more than you want to sleep”

kept playing on repeat in my head. I got my gym clothes on, and the kids got their bathing suits, I was determined to go to the gym. I want to succeed more than I want to sleep… Well, I walked into the building and I felt like I was going to fall asleep while standing. It was at this point I realized. I need to listen to my body, there was no way my mind could push through the sleepy haze I found myself in.

So, I listened and went back home and slept all afternoon, and woke up to clear skin. Success of a different kind.

I ended up eating a tortilla and fried breaded chicken for lunch because I was exhausted and hungry. This made the pain of not getting to the gym worse, BUT… I am going on a run tonight. So, Everything ended up just fine after all. I will just pretend this afternoon never happened  I will run my best tonight and work that much harder at spin class tomorrow. It’s all good.

Off course I wouldn’t sign off my blog tonight without leaving you a piece of encouragement and motivation. Here is the video I was talking about.

The words really resonate, very motivating.

I want to thank you for taking the time to read my blog and sharing this little bit of life with me!

Leave a Reply

